NYHETSBREV - 2009-11-13
"Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book - featuring two full-length stories, The Leaking Cello Case and John Wesley Harding - is stuffed to the gills with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars, and excellent weed as Dave and his freeloading pal Paul, well-meaning stoners in the tradition of Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, thwart criminal malfeasance even as they ponder the larger questions, such as, “What steps can I personally take to help protect the Earth and the species that inhabit it?” (though most people’s answers to these questions don’t involve sword fights and hovercrafts).
 
Joe Daly brings a refreshingly original — and utterly hilarious — voice to the comics medium, a dry, deadpan wit anchored in everyday reality combined with unnervingly deranged plots, rendered with a hyper-detailed, half-realistic and half-cartoony Tintin-style crispness." -Fantagraphics

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Fantagraphics Books
Innbundet: ja
Sidetall: 112
Språk: UK

pris: .00
 

 
"What is the squirrel machine? Is it a rodent ensnarement device? A mechanism for concealing one’s guarded harvest? An anachronistic fable? A meaningless diversion?
Set in a fictional 19th Century New England town, the narrative initially details the relationship and maturation of Edmund and William Torpor. But the two brothers quickly elicit the scorn and recrimination of an unamused public when they reveal their musical creations built from strange technologies and scavenged animal carcasses. Driven to seek a concealment for their aberrant activities, they make a startling discovery. Perhaps they will divine the mystery of the squirrel machine.
It’s also the legendary obscurantist cartoonist Hans Rickheit’s most ambitious graphic novel to date. Exquisitely rendered, strange, and hauntingly beautiful, this evocative and enigmatic book will ensure the inquisitive reader a spleenful of cerebral serenity that will require vast quantities of mediocrity to banish from memory." -Fantagraphics

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Fantagraphics Books
Innbundet: ja
Sidetall: 192
Språk: UK

pris: 189.00
 

 
"Bruce Paley turned 18 in 1967 during the Summer of Love, putting him on the front lines of the late-1960s youth movement. Paley’s tumultuous journey took him from being a Jack Kerouac-loving hippie in the 1960s, on the road with his 17-year-old girlfriend, dropping acid at Disneyland, living in a car, and crashing with armed Black Panthers at the infamous 1968 Democratic National Convention, to hanging out at Max’s Kansas City, shooting heroin and cocaine with the likes of rock star Johnny Thunders, and frequenting Times Square’s seedy brothels — a journey that mirrored the changing times as the optimism of the ’60s gave way to the nihilism of the punk years. Over a dozen years, Bruce crossed paths with hippies, violent cops, rednecks, rock stars, and Black Panthers... and ended up a heroin addict for much of the 1970s.
 
These stories are vividly brought to life in Giraffes in My Hair (A Rock ’N’ Roll Life) by the compelling visual storytelling of Bruce’s partner, the cartoonist Carol Swain." -Fantagraphics

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Fantagraphics Books
Innbundet: ja
Sidetall: 136
Språk: UK

Utsolgt
 

 

THE CARTOON HISTORY OF THE MODERN WORLD 02

FROM THE BASTILLE TO BAGHDAD
More than thirty years ago, master cartoonist and historian Larry Gonick began the epic task of creating a smart, accurate, and entertaining illustrated history of the world. In this, the fifth and final book of this beloved and critically acclaimed series, Gonick finally brings us up to the modern day.
 
"The Cartoon History of the Modern World, Part II picks up at the Enlightenment; continues through two and a half centuries of revolution, social and economic innovation, nationalism, colonialism, scientific progress, and the abolition of slavery; and concludes in the early twenty-first century with the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Essentially a college-level course in modern world history, with equal attention given to every area of the globe, Gonick's witty and engaging pages bring the past to life and put a brilliant new spin on our world. Whether you are a longtime fan or a first-time reader, this thrilling conclusion of our civilization's monumental story is not to be missed!" -fra omslaget

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Harper Collins Publishing
Innbundet: nei
Sidetall: 272
Språk: UK

Utsolgt
 

 
"The team is despondent following the near apocalypse created by one of their own and the death of their beloved mentor Pogo. So it's a great time for another catastrophic event to rouse the team into action. Trouble is -- each member of the team is distracted by some very real problems of their own. The White Violin is bedridden due to an unfortunate blow to the head. Rumor has lost her voice -- the source of her power. Spaceboy has eaten himself into a near-catatonic state, while Number Five dives into some shady dealings at the dog track and The Kraken starts looking at his littlest brother as the key to unraveling a mysterious series of massacres . . . all leading to a blood-drenched face-off with maniacal assassins, and a plot to kill JFK!" -Dark Horse

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Dark Horse Books
Innbundet: nei
Sidetall: 192
Språk: UK

Utsolgt
 

 
Første bind av komplettsamlingen av avisserien Bloom County (den med pingvinen Opus).
 
"Berkeley Breathed's Bloom County is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed newspaper strips of modern times. Premiering on December 8th, 1980 - a month after the election of Ronald Reagan as President - the strip brought to the comics pages a unique amalgam of contemporary politics and fantasy, all told with hilarious humor and wit." -IDW

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: IDW Publishing
Innbundet: ja
Sidetall: 284
Språk: UK

pris: 349.00
 

 
Hva om nasjonens mektigste person var en bortskjemt drittunge? Ufyselige lille Ethelbert styrer landet Portocristo på barnsligste vis i denne humorserien skrevet av Lewis Trondheim (Dungeon).

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: First Second
Innbundet: nei
Sidetall: 62
Språk: UK

pris: 99.00
 

 

TROTSKY

A GRAPHIC BIOGRAPHY
"Trotsky was a hero to some, a ruthless demon to others. To Stalin, he was such a threat that he warranted murder by ice ax. This polarizing figure set up a world conflict that lasted through the twentieth century. In the hands of the renowned comic artist Rick Geary, his life becomes a guide to the creation of the Soviet Union, the horrors of World War I, and the establishment of international communism." -fra omslaget

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Hill and Wang
Innbundet: ja
Sidetall: 102
Språk: UK

Utsolgt
 

 
Denne britiske utgaven av Largo Winch inneholder to album.

Utgivelsesår: 2009
Forlag: Cinebook
Innbundet: nei
Sidetall: 94
Språk: UK

Utsolgt
 

 
HANDLEKURV

Handlekurven er tom

Legg produktene du ønsker i handlekurven og gå til kassen for å betale.

Du kan også lagre handlelister til senere bruk - eller dele dine lister med andre.

Les våre betingelser.

Vi godtar

Eller vi kan sende faktura.